Reviews

Search reviews

Send us your Guardian Holiday Review

Send us your Guardian Holiday Review

11 to 20 of 25 results
Page 1 | 2 | 3

India in slow motion - Wild Frontiers

A simply wonderful experience that both excited us and, at the same time, humbled us. We felt so privileged to be entertained both in simple houses of village people as well as the Palaces and Forts of Princes and Maharajas. But it was the vibrancy, the colour, the hustle and bustle of daily life and the genuine welcome offered throughout our magical tour that brought the real India to life for us. Above all, it was the sheer brilliance of our guide, ‘JP’, who transformed a really good trip into an unforgettable experience.

Feb 2011
by Mr & Mrs Darbon

Time travel to a better time.

Discover Syria - Wild Frontiers

The combination of the friendly Syrians, the excellent local guide and the dedicated tour leader created an environment that felt like time travel to a better time.

Oct 2010
by Mr D Imperiali

Iran: Land of the Peacock Throne - Wild Frontiers

Every time I go on a trip with WF I don't think it can get any better but it does. I have just come back from an achingly good trip to Iran and can only console myself by thinking about my next jaunt... WF is not a leader in its field it's the King and Queen of it. I can't recommend them highly enough.

Oct 2010
by Juliette Claridge

India in slow motion - Wild Frontiers

Every day produced a highlight. I loved the farming around Castle Bijaipur and being able to walk around and talk to local people. I loved travelling in the jeep because you didn't feel cut off from life happening around you. I loved having evening drinks around camp fires. Talking to the two Marahajas was so interesting and very relaxed. Going to an Indian wedding with J.P. was a real experience. Camels, nomads, monkey peeing on my head, water buffalo - I could go on and on. I think the major highlights were from the beginning to the end!

Jan 2010
by ms A Smith

Rajasthan: Alternative Christmas in India - Wild Frontiers

Sweeping through the gates of Castle Bijaipur in the depths of rural Rajasthan I received the best welcome I have had anywhere in the world. I felt like I was in a film set garlanded by marigolds, I was swept back into another age in an enchanted land. The love affair didn't end during the whole stay...

Dec 2009
by Ms S Jenkins

Easter Rajasthan chill out - Wild Frontiers

The main reason for choosing this trip was to see some of India for the first time. We liked the eco tourist ideals you set out in the brochure and the chill out appealed because it would give us relaxation after a hectic tailor made two weeks....What a wonderful time we had meeting locals, watching them working in cottage industries and enjoying walking through the lovely countryside near Bijaipur Castle. The organisation was first class, accommodation very special and our leaders ensured that all we had to do was enjoy ourselves. We highly recommend this type of holiday.

Apr 2009
by Mr & Mrs Haver

Village India - Slowly Down the Ganges - Wild Frontiers

Main reason for choosing this trip was the variety of experiences of India offered by the different activities. We hadn’t been to India before and we wanted to experience something more than the usual tourist trip. Highlights for us were visit to the Taj Mahal on our pre-trip extension, the foothills of the Himalayas at the Sitla estate, Rishikesh and the arti ceremony on the banks of the Ganges, the Taj Residency Hotel at Lucknow, camping on the sandbanks of the Ganges and Varanessi.

Our tour leader, Hayley was absolutely exceptional. She was bright and cheerful in all circumstances, well organized, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about India and endeavoured to give equal attention to us all. She was largely responsible for the success of the trip. When problems arose, she went beyond the call of duty to resolve things. Our Indian guide Bhopal was also invaluable, being kind, concerned for our safety, a source of knowledge and always ready to help.

Feb 2009
by David & Sylvia Markham

Village India - Slowly Down the Ganges - Wild Frontiers

Main reason for choosing this trip was the variety of experiences of India offered by the different activities. Highlights for us were visit to the Taj Mahal on our pre-trip extension, the foothills of the Himalayas at the Sitla estate, Rishikesh and the arti ceremony on the banks of the Ganges, the Taj Residency Hotel at Lucknow, camping on the sandbanks of the Ganges and Varanessi. Our tour leader, Hayley was absolutely exceptional. She was bright and cheerful in all circumstances, well organized, knowledgeable and enthusiastic about India and endeavoured to give equal attention to us all. She was largely responsible for the success of the trip. When problems arose, she went beyond the call of duty to resolve things. Our Indian guide Bhopal was also invaluable, being kind, concerned for our safety, a source of knowledge and always ready to help.

Feb 2009
by David and Sylvia Markham

Libya Unveiled - Wild Frontiers

Libya is a fascinating place to visit especially before mass tourism hits. The Wild Frontiers trip was mind blowing from the sheer scale of the ruins at Leptis Magna; the beauty of the villa nearby; the desert in its many different guises; to the ghost town of Ghat - topped with the most delightful Tuareg drivers and cook it was a perfect holiday.

by Fiona Lings

Romania - Wild Walk in the Carpathians - Wild Frontiers

The Transylvanian Explorer tour gives an excellent insight into the way of life in rural Romania, meeting and staying with the local people and eating local dishes. The walking is quite demanding, but results in fantastic views and a great experience of areas off the beaten track. This is a tour that provides a real appreciation of an unspoilt part of Europe and also provides self exploration through the challenges that walking in the rugged mountains presents. The cultural side of the tour, with the painted churches and seeing first hand the way of rural life, is fascinating - Romania: Transylvanian Explore

by Peter & Jean Arnold
11 to 20 of 25 results
Page 1 | 2 | 3